Join us at our Annual Meeting!

Our Annual Meeting is one of the most important events for the National Women’s Political Caucus, and we’re thrilled to announce that this year we have some very exciting speakers! Author and philanthropist Daphna Ziman<, who has dedicated her life to advocating for foster children and social justice issues, will be our keynote speaker. Daphna will be introduced by Congresswoman Maxine Waters<, and Edie Fraser< will be speaking about the Million Women Mentors initiative. We will also hear from Dr. Ana Margarita Guzman (“Cha”), one of the nation’s foremost Hispanic educators who also served as Senior Adviser to the Secretary of Education during the second term of the Clinton administration.

Make sure you register today so that you don't miss these fantastic speakers! Our Annual Meeting is also an important event for NWPC because it is a time when our board and members convene together to discuss the mission of our organization and to set our goals for the upcoming year. We hope you will join us!

Register for the Annual Meeting today!

Our History is Our Strength

In 1971, there were two women serving in the U.S. Senate and 13 women in the U.S. House of Representatives.

That year, a group of over 300 women united in what became a shake up of the political landscape. These women insisted on having a voice about the issues affecting them and their families, and thus, they founded the National Women’s Political Caucus. Today, we honor the hundreds of thousands of women who have given so much of themselves and worked tirelessly to pave the way for others who continue to keep moving us forward. As Alice Paul said, “When you put your hand to the plow, you can't put it down until you get to the end of the row”.

In 2014, there are 20 women serving in the U.S. Senate and 79 women in the U.S. House of Representatives. At 18.5% of the total Congress, we have our work before us.

We look to the future, always remembering those upon whose shoulders we stand. From them, we gather our strength to continue the mission.

Please show your strength and determination to elect more progressive women to the United States’ Congress, by donating to the NWPC today.

42nd Anniversary of Title IX

June 23rd marks the 42nd anniversary of the landmark Title IX legislation. Best known for its impact on school sports, Title IX covers a wide variety of discriminatory problems in the education system. From equal opportunities in school bands and clubs, to discrimination in traditionally male fields of study, to sexual harassment; Title IX is a key protection for women seeking an education.

We celebrate the advancement of women in academics and sports during the month of June. Enacted just one year after the founding of the National Women’s Political Caucus, our organization has been a supporter of educational equality from the very beginning.

“No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.”

- Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972

Call for Submissions:
Exceptional Merit in Media Awards

EMMA Logo for Documents_0.png

We are preparing for another successful Exceptional Merit in Media Awards (EMMAs) in October 2014. The EMMAs were created to recognize and honor journalists and media outlets in radio, television, print and the internet. Journalists nominated for this award will be those doing exceptional work reporting on critical issues that impact women’s lives.

Qualifying submissions will be those published between June 1, 2012 and December 31, 2013. These submissions will be reviewed by a celebrity panel of judges; this year these awards will be presented in New York City. Past recipients have come from Bloomberg News, BBC News, Glamour, Marie Claire and such notable journalists as Sheryl WuDunn, Cokie Roberts and Eleanor Clift.

To find more information on the event, visit our EMMAs website:

You can either submit by mailing in a completed entry form or with our online entry form.

Visit the NWPC Store!

Read NWPC's Bi-Monthly Newsletter!

NWPC's Banner of Distinction

Golden Eagle
Women of Distinction

Ms. Miriam Sahlmann Hastings
Ms. Hilda Hernandez
Ms. Miriam Frieda Sussman
Ms. Pauline Walruff-Snyder

Women of Distinction
Ms. Nancy Carefoot
Ms. Ruth Gadebusch
Ms. Mary Hager
Ms. Cindy Hall
Ms. Margaret Hunt
Ms. Joy Lieberman
Ms. Nancy O'Malley
Ms. Mary Stanley
Ms. Betty Van Uum

Donate to the NWPC Foundation!

Be part of the start by donating to the NWPC Foundation:

Celebrate the next 40 years and beyond!

NWPC Foundation.jpg

Donate to the NWPC Foundation to help promote the "Political Equality Century!"