JOIN button.png

DONATE button.png

2013 Women of Courage Awards

Printer-friendly view of this page.

Women of Courage Large Graphic.png

In 1983, Brenda Clubine was imprisoned for murdering her husband after being abused by him for years. She was incarcerated at the California Institution for Women, with a sentence of 15 years to life. She and other abused inmates worked together in 1989 to form Convicted Women Against Abuse (CWAA).

When Sissy Farenthold was first elected to the Texas House, she was the only woman serving at that time. During her time in office, she was a member of the “Dirty Thirty,” a group of legislators who rebelled against a corrupt Speaker. In 1972, she was nominated for Vice President of the United States. In 1973, she became the first chair of the National Women’s Political Caucus. She was President of Wells College from 1976-1980.

Gabby Giffords represented Arizona’s 8th congressional district from 2007 until January of 2012. In January of 2011, Giffords was shot in the head during a meeting with constituents in an attack that also killed six nearby people. Giffords co-founded the gun control group Americans for Responsible Solutions with her husband, Mark Kelly, and the organization has raised $11 million.

Grace Napolitano has represented California in the U.S. House of Representatives since 1999. Napolitano was the daughter of a Mexican immigrant, is a former chairwoman of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus and currently represents a primarily Hispanic district.

Barbara Pyle is an award-winning executive producer, environmental activist, and filmmaker. She is credited with the idea of using broadcast programming for social and environmental activism. She is the executive producer of the television show Captain Planet and the Planeteers, and also founded the Captain Planet Foundation., which funds environmental projects for children.

Diane Savino represents the 23rd Senatorial District in the New York Senate and is a long-time champion of workers’ rights.

Elizabeth Warren currently represents Massachusetts in the U.S. Senate. After winning a difficult election for her Senate seat in 2012, Warren has continued her work to hold big banks accountable while serving on the Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs committee, and has also introduced her first bill, the Bank on Student Loans Fairness Act, which would allow students to take out government education loans at the same rates that banks pay to borrow from the government.

Women of Courage: President's Awards

Wendy and Leticia Picture.jpg

Wendy Davis is a Texas State Senator who attracted national attention when she filibustered severe anti-choice legislation for 13 hours in June of 2013. Davis was a single mother by age 19 and worked to put herself through college, eventually graduating with honors from Harvard Law School. Davis is now a national icon because of the courage she showed by standing up for hours without breaks or rest in order to fight for women’s rights.

Leticia Van De Putte is a Texas State Senator who is also a practicing pharmacist. On the night of Wendy Davis’s filibuster of anti-choice Texas legislation, Van De Putte asked the much quoted question, “At what point does a female Senator have to raise her voice or her hand to be heard over her male colleagues in the room,” a powerful statement that exemplifies Van De Putte’s courage as well as her commitment to women’s rights.

Women of Courage: Diversity Leadership Awards

First elected in 2006, Sheryl Cole is the first African American woman elected to the Austin City Council.

Amy Wong Mok is the Founder & CEO of the Asian American Cultural Center and the President of the Asian American Community Partnership.

Francis Jaimes is the President of the Copa Bar & Grill and our generous host for the Women of Courage Awards this year in Austin, TX.

August 9th, 2013 7:00 PM   through   9:00 PM
Copa Bar and Grill
217 Congress Ave
Austin, TX 78701
United States
Phone: 202-785-1100

NWPC Foundation

Be part of the start by donating to the NWPC Foundation. Celebrate the next 40 years and beyond! Visit to learn more.

NWPC Foundation.jpg

Donate to the NWPC Foundation to help promote the "Political Equality Century!"

NWPC-Dell MPP Program


  • Up to 30% OFF list prices for select configurations
  • Members receive additional savings on select* electronics and accessories!
  • Monthly coupons for Members Only

*Offer does not apply to the following products categories: Printers and Ink, Gaming, Batteries and Power. Additional savings apply to select other offers.

Members can shop online and register for Dell Advantage or can call 1-800-545-3769 speak with a sales representative. Offer valid only to NWPC members.