JOIN button.png

DONATE button.png


NWPC EMMAs A Success!

emmas logo 2010.jpgThe EMMAS with featured guest Tyne Daly!
Exceptional Merit in Media Awards 2010

Thursday, October 14, 2010
6:00 - 8:00 pm

The Cornell Club - 6 E 44th St - New York, NY

The EMMAs were developed to honor and reward journalists and media outlets in radio, television, print and the internet that inform and educate the public about critical issues that impact women’s lives. The 2010 EMMAs are dedicated to NWPC co-founder Liz Sutherland Carpenter. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (NY) and Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney (NY) serve as co-chairs of the Honorary Host Committee for this year's event.

In 1986 NWPC held the first EMMAs ceremony and gave its first awards. Over the past 22 years, the EMMAs have been presented for outstanding coverage ranging from ESPN’s 2004 broadcast on Title IX to Vanity Fair’s 2004 article on rape and sexual assault at the U.S. Air Force Academy. In 2006, an award in the print category was given to Glamour Magazine for an article which exposed the Los Angeles sweatshops taking advantage of women; the shops were run by the ‘Forever 21’ apparel chain which features inexpensive clothing for young women 18-21. Other past winners include many renowned and highly respected journalists such as Ellen Goodman, Cokie Roberts, Barbara Ehrenreich, Diane Sawyer, and Eleanor Clift.

Rachel Maddow, Laura Ling, and Lisa Ling were presented with the 2010 President's Award.

NWPC appoints a panel of celebrity, academic and journalist judges who review and judge the entries and select the winners from each category. The winners encompass all types of issues of importance to women and often bring to light those issues that might tend to get glossed over or to slip through the cracks of mainstream public attention.

The judges included Associate Dean Arlene Morgan of Columbia Universitys Graduate School of Journalism; Ron Nessen, news executive and Journalist in Residence at the Brookings Institution; Deborah Hill, Chair of Austin Community Colleges Department of Radio, Television and Film; and Pam Coulter, anchor/ correspondent on National Public Radio, formerly with ABC Radio News -- all award-winning in their fields and with extensive judging experience.

To read more about the 2010 EMMAs judges, click here.

The 2010 EMMAs were dedicated to the memory of Liz Sutherland Carpenter, Co-Founder of the National Women’s Political Caucus, White House Press Secretary, and beloved writer and humorist, who spent a lifetime mentoring others in media and public policy issues. In her honor, a new award has been created: the Liz Sutherland Carpenter Political Humor Award. This year it was given to Samantha Bee.

A big thanks goes out to our 2010 Sponsors!
Women's eNews; Dell, Inc.; SEIU; Spiderwood Studios; Oheka Castle Hotel & Estate; Lulu Flores; Linda Young; Irene Natividad; EMILY's List; Running Start.
A special thanks also goes to: Michael Kimbrew, First Film Entertainment; Martin Cebreros, Photography.

Congratulations to our 2010 Exceptional Merit in Media Awards winners! The field was strong this year and the decisions were difficult, but our judges selected the following entries:

Exceptional Internet Story

The Memo: Special Report: Status of U.S. Women by Rita Henley Jensen, Jennifer Waldref,
Sharon Johnson, Allison Stevens, Cynthia L. Cooper, Marie Tessier, Lorraine Orlandi, Women’s eNews

Exceptional Magazine Story

The Scandal of Military Rape by Helen Benedict, Ms. Magazine
“Meet Generation (R)x” by Liz Welch, Glamour
The Crime Against Women That No One Understands by Sabrina Rubin Erdley, Self
Silenced in the Barracks by Jessica Pupovac, In These Times

President's Award

Rachel Maddow
Laura & Lisa Ling

Liz Sutherland Carpenter Political Humor Award

Samantha Bee

To read about all of this year's excellent submissions, please go here.

NWPC Foundation

Be part of the start by donating to the NWPC Foundation. Celebrate the next 40 years and beyond! Visit to learn more.

NWPC Foundation.jpg

Donate to the NWPC Foundation to help promote the "Political Equality Century!"

NWPC-Dell MPP Program


  • Up to 30% OFF list prices for select configurations
  • Members receive additional savings on select* electronics and accessories!
  • Monthly coupons for Members Only

*Offer does not apply to the following products categories: Printers and Ink, Gaming, Batteries and Power. Additional savings apply to select other offers.

Members can shop online and register for Dell Advantage or can call 1-800-545-3769 speak with a sales representative. Offer valid only to NWPC members.