Submission Deadline: February 1st, 2016

The Exceptional Merit in Media Awards (EMMAs) were created by the National Women’s Political Caucus in 1985 to reward excellence in media coverage of issues important to women. The EMMAs honor journalists and media outlets that inform and educate Americans about issues critical to women in our culture. Past award winners include Sheryl WuDunn and Nicholas Kristof for Half the Sky, Helen Benedict for Ms. Magazine, Anna Quindlen of The New York Times, Barbara Ehrenreich of Time, Carole Simpson of LIFETIME World News Tonight, Cokie Roberts of National Public Radio, Carole Zimmer of Bloomberg Radio, Lisa Guerrero of Inside Edition, and many more.

To Enter:

  1. Eligible entries were published or broadcast between July 1, 2013 and December 31, 2015. Any medium of journalism can be considered for an EMMA, including (but not limited to): books, newspaper articles, blog posts, fine artwork, documentaries, magazine articles, podcasts, films, etc.
  2. Fill out all the fields in this submission form, including a description of your piece and why it deserves an EMMA.
  3. Upload the piece you are submitting. *If you are submitting a hard copy, please email*
  4. Pay the processing fee.

Please direct all questions about the 2016 EMMAs Submission process to or call NWPC's national office at 202-785-1100.

Title of Entry

Author's Full Name (required)


Awards Coordinator / Contact Person's Full Name

Contact Person's Email (required)

Contact Person's Phone

Contact Person's Address

Upload Your Submission Piece

Description of Entry

Why do you think this piece merits an EMMA?

All funds raised through the Exceptional Merit in Media Awards benefit NWPC's Leadership, Development, Education, and Research Fund (LDERF). LDERF is a tax-deductible, 501c3 nonprofit which is dedicated to educating, engaging, and empowering women on policy issues and the political process. The submission fee for the 2016 EMMAs is $125.

NWPC offers a reduced submission fee of $50 for journalists who are 25-years-old or younger. If you qualify, continue below: